The Odds of March

 

It’s March, so that means Spring, right?  Not necessarily.  One never knows what Mother Nature may bring us in the month of March.  So far this year, we’ve had at least five days of snow,  four or five days of rain, a dozen days of strong winds and maybe three days of sunshine.  And today is only the 18th!  Yesterday we had rain, snow, sleet, and wind. 

 Two weeks ago I got very excited because the first seed catalogs arrived in the mail.  To me that means Spring can’t be far away.  I spend hours poring over the garden catalogs,  studying all the new plants and trying to decide which ones I want to add to my garden.  I start touring my “estate” to see which bulbs have popped through the partially frozen turf and check the trees for buds.  The tulips, hyacinths, and daffodils are up about 4 inches, with buds forming; the pussy willow has soft little catkins, and the dogwood buds are becoming soft.

 A few days after my tour, everything was buried under 14 inches of  snow!  My excitement was short-lived.  After a bleak, dreary winter with five or six “no show” snows, it was good to see the world suddenly turned into what resembled a giant coconut cake, trimmed with evergreen trees bending gracefully under a layer of snow.  The nice thing about that snow was that it melted quickly and disappeared before it got all dirty and ugly.  Then came more rain, more wind, more sunshine .then more snow.

 But Mother Nature is not the only one confused.  Earthly mothers don’t know when to put away the caps, scarves, mittens and boots.  Or what to buy for Easter outfits – nice frilly dresses and short pants, or new heavy  coats and gloves.  Or, come to think of it, do they still do that?  With five grandsons that’s not my concern any more.

 With this crazy month half gone, I think I’ll retrieve my seed catalogs and start dreaming about my garden while I listen to the wind howling outside.  Maybe I can drown out the sound with  good recording of “Easter Parade” or “Here Comes Peter Cotton Tail”.

Leave a Reply

