The “Last” Snow

The view from the hill today is spectacular.  It started snowing about 2 hours ago and has been coming down steadily ever since.  The ground is totally covered and the trees look like cakes that were frosted while they were still warm. 

Snow Cats

Today is the 24th of March, the month that came in like a lion and was supposed to go out like a lamb.  Well, I guess it does look like a lamb – a nice white wooly fluffy one.  I am ready for Spring!

Prissy, the 18 month old cat is out playing in the snow.  She runs and skids to a stop and crouches and tries to catch the snow flakes before they hit the ground.  When they land, she pounces and tries to dig them up.  I wish I could teach her to build a snow man.  She will certainly look like one when she finally decides to come in.  Tiger on the other hand is showing his age.  He took one look, turned around and found a nice warm chair to curl up in.

All in all, I’m grateful for one more glimpse of a genuine snow scene before the hot scorching days of summer move in.  My favorite poem in school was “Snow Bound” by John Greenleaf Whittier, and this kind of snow makes me feel like i am living in that poem.  I feel very privileged to have this kind of view and be safe in my nice warm house.

3 Comments

  1. April 12, 2013 at 9:59 pm

    Another winner!!

  2. May 1, 2013 at 7:41 pm

    Nancy, I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine Award because of your cheerful and inspiring posts. Please read all about on my post at: http://moggiepurrs.wordpress.com/2013/05/01/moggiepurrs-earns-second-award/. You can also copy the logo onto your blog site and display it proudly. Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

