Three Quarters of a Century – WOW!

All my life I’ve marked my age by the decade or quarter century. The first Quarter was pretty exciting. I was a working mother and life was good. But when I reached the Third Decade, I suddenly felt I had somehow left “Young” behind me. By the Fourth Decade, I was a stay-at-home Mom with three kids – busy but not much excitement.
Then came the Half Century. A single Mom, a new career, a college degree and a grandchild. Life was still good but the body was beginning to show the wear and tear and required some tune-ups.
The next two decades were filled with good and bad events. Happiness and sadness. Lost my father and a son, but gained a daughter-in-law and more grandchildren. Enjoyed some traveling in the U.S. and Europe and entered into retirement and a second marriage and some miscellaneous post-retirement jobs. Also acquired a new son-i n-law. A new cycle of life began when I took on the role of parent to my mother and moved to the Shenandoah Valley.
I love the Valley – the pace of life is slower and the people are genuine – once they decide to accept you. Also, the Valley is so full of history, especially of the Civil War and I have become interested in reading about it. It’s so much easier to understand when you can identify places with the facts.
The Seventh Decade brought the beginning of a steady decline in health, requiring many repairs – 1 ear surgery, 5 eye surgeries, and 2 back surgeries. My pace of life became much slower. Now as I have completed the Third Quarter Century, I am finally beginning to feel more like my original self. I am looking forward to a more active decade. My body is slowly regenerating and my mind is racing ahead. Many dreams, many projects.
First on the agenda will be to complete the crib quilts before the birth of my first great grandchildren – yes, twins! I can’t begin to predict what will follow, but I feel I am ready for it. There’s painting to do in the house; there’s more landscaping to do outside; the church’s thrift store has expanded and requires lots of attention and there’s always the opportunity to volunteer at the local Library and meet many interesting people.
Keeping up with the family is almost a full-time occupation: one grandson is on the police force in Warrenton, Virginia and about to be the father of the twins; another grandson is an honor student (a junior) at Shenandoah University; another grandson is employed by Fairfax County Public Works, following in the footsteps of his father, grandfather and great-grandfather; two more grandsons are excelling in sports (baseball and football).
My daughter and son have become mature, responsible adults and I am proud of family.
In my leisure, which is not abundant, I still enjoy reading, quilting, gardening and now, writing. Gardening is a bit of a challenge and I have to pay to have some of it done at my direction.
So three quarters of a century is not bad. Look out eighties, here I come!

Leave a Reply

